Skip to content
Compare

Clouds and VPS hosts compared with Sandboxer

General-purpose virtual machines, servers and cloud agent runtimes. Each row comes from that provider's own documentation, checked on the date shown; follow a name for the full comparison and its sources. "Not documented" means their public docs don't say.

Rankings

Clouds and VPS hosts compared with Sandboxer: Sandboxer and 37 providers
ProviderIsolationPause and resume with memoryLongest sessionBilling4 vCPU / 8 GB per hourChecked
SandboxermicroVMYesNo limit on paid plansPer second, flat rate per size$0.036today
Alibaba Cloud ACKContainers on ECS nodes; optional sandboxed containers (lightweight VMs with dedicated kernels)Not documentedPersistent cluster, no session limitPro cluster fee per hour plus underlying resources—2026-10-24
Alibaba Cloud ECSvirtual machine (also bare metal and GPU instance types)Not documentedNot documentedpay-as-you-go per second; 2-minute minimum for 4+ vCPU instances; also subscription, spot, reserved—2026-10-24
Amazon WorkSpacesNot documentedPartlyNot documentedmonthly flat (AlwaysOn) or monthly base plus hourly (AutoStop)$0.662026-10-24
AWS EC2Nitro-based virtual machine (virtual EC2 instances; bare metal instances also offered)Partlyno fixed limitper second, 1-minute minimum; stopped instances not billed for compute$0.182026-10-24
AWS LambdaFirecracker microVM execution environmentNo15 minutes per invocationPer request plus GB-second of duration$0.482026-10-24
Azure Virtual Machinesvirtual machinePartlyNot documentedper minute by VM size; deallocated and hibernated VMs not billed for compute$0.172026-10-24
CivoNot documentedNoNot documentedhourly, rounded up to the next full hour$0.0602026-10-24
Contabo Cloud VPSKVM virtual machineNot documentednot applicable: persistent server for the contract termmonthly subscription; initial contract minimum 1 month, longer terms advertised at lower effective monthly rates—2026-10-24
DigitalOcean DropletsLinux virtual machine on virtualized hardwareNot documentedNot documentedper second (60-second or $0.01 minimum) from 2026-01-01; monthly cap on bundled plans$0.0712026-10-24
E2E NetworksNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedper minute for GPUs; CPU granularity not stated$0.0492026-10-24
Exoscalefull VM (KVM)Not documentedNot documentedper second—2026-10-24
Gcore Cloud VMsvirtual machineNot documentedNot documentedpay for active instances only; no charge while stopped—2026-10-24
GitHub Copilot cloud agentEphemeral GitHub Actions runner environmentNo59 minutes per agent sessionNot documented—2026-10-24
Google Cloud RunContainer in gVisor (gen1) or full-Linux-compatible second-generation sandboxNoUp to 60 min per request for servicesPer vCPU-second and GiB-second, rounded up to 100 ms (request-based or instance-based)$0.322026-10-24
Google Compute Enginefull VMPartlyno limitNot documented—2026-10-24
Hetzner CloudVirtual machine (hypervisor not named in docs)Not documentedNot documentedlisted per hour and per month, in EUR excl. VAT$0.0582026-10-24
Hetzner Dedicated (root servers)Bare-metal dedicated server (no sandbox layer provided)NoPersistent server, no session limitHourly, capped at the monthly price, plus a one-time setup fee—2026-10-24
Hostinger VPSKVM virtual machineNot documentedNot documentedprepaid plans, intro price then renewal price$0.0182026-10-24
IBM Cloud VPC (Virtual Servers)virtual server instance (VM)Not documentedNot documentedpay-as-you-go hourly, or reserved capacity—2026-10-24
IONOS Cloud Computevirtual private server instanceNot documentedNot documentedpay-as-you-go per minute or per hour$0.0262026-10-24
KakaoCloud Virtual Machinefull VMNoNot documentedby instance usage time; hourly rates vary by size; stopped instances still billed—2026-10-28
Kamaterafull VMNoNot documentedhourly servers billed by the minute, or prepaid monthly—2026-10-28
Latitude.shBare-metal servers; also virtual machines (vm.* plans)Not documentedPersistent server, no session limitHourly, monthly or yearly (reserved cheaper)$0.0902026-10-24
Linode (Akamai Cloud)Not documentedNot documentedNot documentedhourly, rounded up to the nearest hour$0.0722026-10-24
machine0dedicated virtual machinePartlyno limitper minute—2026-10-24
NAVER Cloud Platform ServerCloud virtual server (hypervisor not stated)Not documentedNot documentedHourly or monthly, chosen at creation—2026-10-24
netcup (VPS / root server)KVM virtual machine (VPS)Not documentednot applicable: persistent server for the contract termmonthly; minimum terms 1, 12 or 24 months—2026-10-24
Open Telekom Cloud (ECS)Virtual machine (KVM) or metal instanceNot documentedNot documentedhourly (Elastic), monthly reserved, or upfront reserved—2026-10-24
Oracle Cloud Computevirtual machine on bare metal hardware (bare metal shapes also offered)Not documentedNot documentedper second on demand, OCPU + memory$0.0762026-10-24
OVHcloud Public Cloud instancesNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedhourly, or Savings Plan (12-36 months)—2026-10-24
Sakura CloudVirtual server; dedicated-core, confidential VM and dedicated host plansNot documentedNot documentedhourly and daily, capped at the 20-day amount per month—2026-10-24
Samsung Cloud Platform Virtual Serverfull VMNot documentedNot documentedusage-based—2026-10-28
Self-hosted FirecrackerFirecracker microVM (KVM)Yesno limitnone; you pay for your own hosts—2026-10-24
STACKIT Compute EngineVirtual machine (hypervisor not stated)Not documentedPersistent VM, no session limitHourly pay-as-you-go in EUR—2026-10-24
UbicloudNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedper minute, pro-rated$0.122026-10-24
UpCloudNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedhourly—2026-10-24
Vultrfull VMNono limithourly, capped at 672 h/month (730 h for GPU); billed while powered off$0.0552026-10-27

Prices are list prices for one 4 vCPU, 8 GB machine-hour where the provider sells one, before credits, plans and storage; each comparison page shows the arithmetic. Names are trademarks of their owners; Sandboxer is not affiliated with them.

Every comparison in this category

Other categories