Skip to content

Sandboxer vs OpenPond

OpenPond is an open-source workspace for people and agents, and it also sells sandbox compute with per-second metering, snapshots, previews and budget controls. Its sandbox isolation mechanism is not named in the docs checked. Pick OpenPond for the open-source workspace; pick Sandboxer for full Ubuntu VMs with memory-preserving stop.

Checked against OpenPond's public docs on October 24, 2026. Sources are linked in the table and listed below.

At a glance

Sandboxer and OpenPond compared
CapabilitySandboxerOpenPond
IsolationmicroVM
Cloud Hypervisor, its own kernel
isolated sandbox (mechanism not stated)
Full Linux with root
Ubuntu 24.04, sudo, systemd
Not stated on the official pages checked.
Docker inside
Preinstalled
Not stated on the official pages checked.
Nested virtualization (/dev/kvm)
Not stated on the official pages checked.
Pause and resume with memory
Running processes come back
Docs checked describe snapshots and forks but do not state whether memory or processes are kept.
Fork a sandbox
Copy-on-write disk copy that boots fresh
A snapshot can be forked into another billable sandbox; whether memory/processes carry over is not stated.
HTTPS URL per port
Private with a token, or public
partial
openPort returns a preview URL; private access recommended; per-port behavior not detailed.
Longest sessionNo limit on paid plans
Auto-stop is up to 30 days or off
configurable via maxDurationSeconds; no platform maximum stated
BillingPer second, flat rate per size
Stopped sandboxes are free
per second: vCPU, memory, disk
$0.000020/vCPU-s, $0.0000065/GiB-s, disk $0.0000000333/GiB-s; Pro $20/mo.
GPUs
Not stated on the official pages checked.
Self-host or open sourcepartial
The OpenPond app and CLI are open source; self-hosting of sandbox compute is not stated.
RegionsUS East (Virginia) and EU Central (Finland)
Not stated on the official pages checked.

= not documented publicly.

Price for one 4 vCPU, 8 GB machine

Sandboxer
$0.036/hour
Flat per-second rate for the default size
OpenPond
$0.48/hour
4 vCPU × $0.072/h + 8 GiB × $0.0234/h (VM disk at $0.00012/GiB-h excluded)

List prices from each provider's pricing page, before free credits, plans and storage. This compares price only.

Where OpenPond is strong

  • Open-source workspace with desktop, CLI and local runtime.
  • Budget quotas such as maxSpendUsd, maxDurationSeconds and maxOpenPorts per sandbox.
  • Published per-second rates and resource tiers.

Where Sandboxer differs

  • OpenPond's documented tiers top out at 4 vCPU / 8 GiB (Heavy Builder); Sandboxer goes to 16 vCPU / 32 GB (xlarge, on the $100 plan or higher).
  • OpenPond documents snapshots and forks of prepared sandbox state; the docs checked do not say whether running processes or memory are kept, while Sandboxer stop/resume keeps them.
  • Root, Docker and nested KVM are not documented for OpenPond sandboxes.

Pick OpenPond if

  • You want an open-source agent workspace with optional cloud sandboxes.
  • You want hard per-sandbox spend and duration quotas in the API.

Pick Sandboxer if

  • Each Sandboxer sandbox is a full Ubuntu 24.04 VM with its own kernel, root/sudo, systemd and Docker preinstalled.
  • Stopping saves memory and disk and resume brings running processes back; stopped sandboxes cost nothing.
  • Coding agents (Claude Code, Codex, OpenCode and others) are preinstalled and driven through a prompt API, with an MCP server, REST API, CLI and TypeScript and Python SDKs.

Sources

Products change. If something here is out of date, email hello@sandboxer.com and we'll fix it. OpenPond is a trademark of its owner. Sandboxer is an independent product and is not affiliated with OpenPond.

Other comparisons

All 201 comparisons